SkeptiSys

April 20, 2014

OOTP 15 Released April 2014 : A Step Into The Future

Filed under: News, Sports, Uncategorized — Tags: , , , , , — skeptisys @ 1:20 pm

Out of the Ballpark 15 is being released tomorrow for the 2014 Baseball season.
Available April 2014 for the Windows, Mac, Linux, and iOOTP15 for the iPhone OS.

Order from the Official OOTP 15 website here : OOTP Store

Cost : $39.99

Review tl;dr – OOTP 15 is a must-buy baseball simulation

 

Last week I was in my Heaven, freezing at Yankee Stadium on Opening Week 2014.  Parking was $34.  Two beers and 2 hotdogs, also $34.  Tickets were over $200 per person. About $300 per fan for 3 hours of pure entertainment and 2 hours stuck in stadium traffic.  Was it worth it?  To me and 45,000 other fans, ‘Hell Yes!’

Baseball doesn’t have to be expensive. For $39.99 you can immerse yourself into baseball with the new OOTP 15.  The software comes with full 2014 MLB and Minor league rosters.  Sitting in Yankee Stadium, I didn’t know enough to tell you who was in their minor leagues.  Heck, I didn’t know who Dean Anna was, and he was subbing for Derek Jeter!  Now, after one day with OOTP 15, I can tell you the strengths and weaknesses of the AA Trenton team.  For I am in complete control of the entire Yankee organization.

OOTP 15 is much smoother than its predecessor, OOTP 14.  Once I was able to get used to the updates in customization and design, I was speeding around the entire league looking for anything like a released player or a 17 year old Dominican prospect that could give me even a slight advantage in winning a championship.  Which superfluous prospects can I trade for bullpen help?  I know.  Anyone want to take Ben Gamel off my hands?

Cam Derek Jeter stay healthy all season?  Will I retire Jeter’s #2 at the end of the season or convince him to not retire?

derek jeter a respected leader

derek jeter a respected leader

 

am I the only Gosuke Katoh fan in the world?

am I the only Gosuke Katoh fan in the world?

 

As usual for the OOTP releases, the updates are both significant and subtle.

This OOTP 15 edition will bring new 3D visuals to the game playing arena.  The 3D aspect was unavailable in the pre-release version I am using.

The improved visuals for differing screen resolutions are extremely useful for me, as I can more fully enjoy OOTP 15 at home and on the road.

The excellent new ratings system is superb, as is the entire updated AI system.  The improvements to online leagues and historical leagues are significant.

More details on the improvements to this edition of OOTP, see this newsletter.

If you don’t use OOTP 15 you aren’t a serious baseball fan.  As magnificent as OOTP was, OOTP 15 is an imperative upgrade.

opening day at Yankee Stadium.

opening day at Yankee Stadium.

I’ll see you at the online OOTP 15 league ballpark.*

 

*you are responsible for your own beer and hotdogs

1 Comment »

  1. […] Park Baseball 15 Review "OOTP 15 is a must-buy baseball simulation," writes SkeptiSys. OOTP 15 Released April 2014 : A Step Into The Future | SkeptiSys __________________ PR & Marketing Manager for OOTP, iOOTP, FHM, and […]

    Pingback by The OOTP 15 reviews thread - OOTP Developments Forums — April 22, 2014 @ 6:15 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.